

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

November 4, 2024

THE HONORABLE KATIE HOBBS Governor State of Arizona State Capitol 1700 West Washington Street Phoenix. AZ 85007

Dear Governor Hobbs:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating two Arizona counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

Other counties in Arizona may have already been designated as natural disaster counties if they had previously met the requirements found under 7 CFR 759.5(a) for the current crop year.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loan assistance, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK Secretary

Enclosure

DISASTER DESIGNATION AREAS FOR ARIZONA AND CONTIGUOUS STATES

Primary Counties:

Arizona (2)

La Paz Mohave

Contiguous Counties:

Arizona (4)

Coconino Maricopa Yavapai Yuma

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

California (3)

Imperial Riverside San Bernardino

Nevada (2)

Clark Lincoln

Utah (2)

Kane Washington